Photo by Anton Corbijn

R.E.M. will reissue their eighth studio album Automatic For The People to commemorate its 25th anniversary. Originally released in October 1992, it is widely considered as one of the best albums of the decade. The two-disc anniversary edition will be released on November 10.

Referred to as R.E.M.’s landmark album, Automatic For The People peaked at number one in the UK Album Charts in 1992. It was a huge success for the band, selling a stonking 18 million copies worldwide. The album was certified a 7-time platinum record in the UK.

A Deluxe Anniversary Edition of the remastered version is also set to be released, with its entirety mixed in Dolby Atmos. The technology is said to offer sound that is much more immersive than what the typical stereo provides.

The four-disc deluxe edition will feature 20 demos from the LP’s sessions – specially selected by the band – that have never been released to fans before. The most anticipated demo is Mike’s Pop Song, described by the band as a “pleasant surprise”.

Mike Mills, the founding member of R.E.M. said, “I don’t really have a favourite track on Automatic For The People.

“I will say that the last three, as a trio, are one of the best groupings of songs on any record I can think of. I think those three are pretty powerful.”

Also included in the deluxe edition is an accompanying Blu-Ray featuring seven music videos and the original 1992 electronic press kit video.

The remastered record features some of the band’s most iconic tracks. Man on the Moon, Drive and Everybody Hurts are some of the tracks that give this record a nostalgic blast to the past. This new edition evokes a time of raw and honest music, and offers a transformative listening experience.

The 25th anniversary edition of Automatic For The People is available to pre-order here.