Californian alt-rockers blend chilling vocals and husky tones to make an impression with their debut album, Feel Something.

Their 11-track debut follows the band’s triumphant EP, Outgrown Things which was released in March 2016.

The four-piece have found their craft within the alt-rock world, with their first single Colorblind being a huge success. The track is driven by delicate strumming, angst-fuelled drumming and guttural vocals; it’s probably one of the best songs on the record.

Speaking to Billboard, lead singer Patrick Miranda said, “Colorblind is one of the songs off of Feel Something that we felt best embodied the progression of our music.”

“We wanted the first new song everyone heard to be a heavy hitting banger that would really hit the ground running, and set a tone for the rest of the record.”

Miranda is adept at writing too, with Full Circle being sodden with sensitive lyrics. Movements’ mere two years as a band proves to be confusing considering the sincerity of their sound.

He sings: “So back to the needle and the thread, I’ve had enough of this blood I’ve bled. I wanna breathe life in my lungs again, clear the thought that f**ks my head.” This paired with captivating spoken word pieces only adds to the authenticity of this breath-taking debut.

Photo by Kurt Cuffy

Daylily and Deadly Dull pair together well amid the beautiful chaos of the record; Movements add a whole new dimension to Feel Something with these tracks. Hard-hitting, power-fuelled vocals merged with spoken word pieces are what drive the two tracks, diverting slightly from their typically instrument-led sound.

The four-piece stick to what gained them popularity with Third Degree – its darker sound and catchy chorus coin together to make a strong impact on the record. Under The Gun shares a similar vibe, while adding an unexpected element with raw, husky vocals.

Towards the end of the album, it is obvious that Movements are bound to challenge the boundaries of genres – the back and forth of different sounds and tones probably shouldn’t work. But they do. Moving from their harder sounds, Fever Dream is delicately soft, tugging at the heartstrings and every other emotion.

Album art for Movements’ debut album, Feel Something

For a debut album, Movements have certainly raised the bar for themselves.

Will you be checking them out? The band will be supporting Knuckle Puck on their UK tour this December, along with Tiny Moving Parts and Have Mercy.

Tour dates:

7 DEC – Rescue Rooms Nottingham
8 DEC – Key Club Leeds
9 DEC – SWG3 Glasgow
10 DEC – Riverside Newcastle
12 DEC – Club Academy Manchester
13 DEC – Fleece Bristol
14 DEC – 1865 Southampton
15 DEC – Electric Ballroom London

For fans of: Neck Deep, La Dispute, Knuckle Puck and Basement